Jun 25, 2018

Programs and Apps 2018

Objectives:
  1. Teachers will be able to explore a certain app/program and will learn how it works
  2. Teachers will be able to explain to the group how a certain app/ program works
  3. Teachers will be able to explain how this app/program can be used in language instruction (which modes of communication, what level and which specific lignuistic task)
Task: Choose one of the apps/ programs below, explore it, learn how it works, and then explain it and show us how it can be used in Arabic language instruction:
  1. Adobe Voice: www.voice.adobe.com
  2. Animoto: www.animoto.com
  3. AnswerGarden: www.answergarden.ch
  4. Canva: https://www.canva.com/
  5. GoAnimate: www.goanimate.com
  6. Haiku Deck: https://www.haikudeck.com/  
  7. Meme Creator: www.memecreator.org
  8. Puppet Edu: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shadow-puppet-edu/id888504640?mt=8
  9. ShowMe: http://www.showme.com/
  10. StoryBird: http://storybird.com/
  11. Tagxedo: www.tagxedo.com/
  12. Tellagami: https://tellagami.com/
  13. ThingLink: https://www.thinglink.com/
  14. ToonDoo: http://www.toondoo.com/
  15. Toonstatic: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toontastic/id404693282?mt=8
  16. Vocki: http://www.voki.com/
  17. Weebly: http://www.weebly.com/
  18. WordLens: YouTube Editor: https://www.youtube.com/editor 
Apps for the iPad
  1. Our Story (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/our-story/id436758256?mt=8  
  2. Screen Chomp (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/screenchomp/id442415881?mt=8
  3. Sock Puppets (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sock-puppets/id394504903?mt=8 

Jun 30, 2015

Programs and Apps - Startalk 2015

Programs and Apps (in alphabetical order), we have taught and will teach at this year’s NOVA Startalk. For more information about the program check out our website at  http://novastartalk.nvcc.edu.
  1. Adobe Voice: www.voice.adobe.com
  2. Animoto: www.animoto.com
  3. AnswerGarden: www.answergarden.ch
  4. Blendspace: www.blenspace.com
  5. Canva: https://www.canva.com/
  6. Cred.ly: https://credly.com/
  7. Forvo: www.forvo.com
  8. GoAnimate: www.goanimate.com
  9. Haiku Deck: https://www.haikudeck.com/  
  10. iMovie: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/imovie/id377298193?mt=8
  11. Meme Creator: www.memecreator.org
  12. Our Story (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/our-story/id436758256?mt=8
  13. Puppet Edu: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shadow-puppet-edu/id888504640?mt=8
  14. QR Code Reader: (iPad/ iPhone):  https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/qr-code-reader-and-scanner/id388175979?mt=8
  15. QR Code Generators: (www.qrstuff.com, www.qrcode.kaywa.com, https://www.the-qrcode-generator.com
  16. Screen Chomp (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/screenchomp/id442415881?mt=8
  17. ShowMe: http://www.showme.com/
  18. Sock Puppets (iPad App): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sock-puppets/id394504903?mt=8
  19. StoryBird: http://storybird.com/
  20. Tagxedo: www.tagxedo.com/
  21. Tellagami: https://tellagami.com/
  22. ThingLink: https://www.thinglink.com/
  23. ToonDoo: http://www.toondoo.com/
  24. Toonstatic: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toontastic/id404693282?mt=8
  25. Vocki: http://www.voki.com/
  26. Weebly: http://www.weebly.com/
  27. WordLens: YouTube Editor: https://www.youtube.com/editor

Visit to the Freer and Sackler Galleries

NOVA Startalk 2015




Jul 1, 2014

Image Data Bases for Language Learning

Here are a few databases where you can find images you are allowed to use for free.

Jul 11, 2013